Dermatopathology Section

The name of this Society shall be the Dermatopathology Section of the Association of Professors of Dermatology, hereafter referred to as the Dermatopathology Section.

Objectives and Purpose:
The mission of the Dermatopathology Section is to promote excellence in education of dermatopathology, promote collaboration of dermatopathology training, and foster relationships between dermatopathology faculty.

The objectives of the Dermatopathology Section are the following:
  1. Promote excellence in the dermatopathology curriculum for dermatology residency training and dermatopathology fellowship training.
  2. Provide a forum for networking and discussion of opportunities, challenges, and developments of dermatopathology training in residency and fellowship programs. Residency and fellowship program refers to an ACGME approved training program.
  3. Promote cooperative relationships between the Section and other professional organizations whose goals are to educate trainees and physicians in dermatopathology. The purpose of these relationships is to develop and maintain the highest educational standards within dermatopathology training.
  4. To encourage innovation in dermatopathology training methods.
  5. Provide an opportunity for professional development of dermatology trained dermatopathology faculty.
Organizational Structure of Dermatopathology Section
Section A: Purpose of Membership for Dermatopathology Section
The Dermatopathology Section recognizes the essential role and contribution of dermatopathologists, in particular dermatology trained dermatopathologists, in the education of medical students, residents, and fellows.

Section B: Membership Criteria for Dermatopathology Section
All dermatopathologists participating in resident and fellowship training programs are encouraged to become members.

All members must:
  1. Be a dermatopathologist who holds a faculty appointment in an ACGME approved residency or fellowship program.
  2. Actively contribute to the dermatopathology education of medical students, residents, and fellows.
  3. Dermatopathologists with academic affiliations who do not otherwise qualify for APD membership, may join the dermatopathology listserv and may attend meetings of the Section by paying non-member meeting fees as set by the APD.
Section C: Steering Committee for Dermatopathology Section
The Steering Committee will be composed of a Chair, Vice Chair, Immediate Past-Chair (ex-officio) and committee members at large (number to be determined).
  1. The Chair will serve for two (2) years.
  2. The Vice Chair will serve for two (2) years.
  3. The Chair will also serve as chair for the dermatopathology break-out session or other meetings.
  4. The Immediate Past-Chair will serve for two (2) years.
  5. The committee members will serve for three (3) years, staggered.
  6. The Chair and Vice Chair will have been previous committee members (after first 2 years of implementation of the Section).
The purpose of the Steering Committee is to carry out an agenda agreed upon by majority of the section members. Candidates for the steering committee will be chosen by the Steering Committee and approved by the section membership.
  1. The Chair of the section will serve ex-officio on the Board of Directors of the Association of Professors of Dermatology.
  2. The Steering Committee may appoint ad hoc task forces to address areas of interest for the membership.
  3. All members of the Steering Committee, including the Chair and Vice Chair, must be members of the APD.
Section D: Duties of Dermatopathology Section Steering Committee Members The Chair shall:
  1. Prepare the agenda and preside at any Section meetings.
  2. Communicate with other professional organizations that share goals of educating trainees and physicians in dermatopathology.
  3. Report Dermatopathology Section activities to the APD at the board meeting.
The Vice Chair shall:
  1. Serve in the place of the Chair when necessary.
  2. Record minutes and communicate Section activities to dermatopathology educators both within and outside the APD, as needed.
Section E: Steering Committee Meetings for Dermatopathology Section
The Steering Committee shall meet as often as required throughout the year and shall represent the Section, as necessary. The Steering Committee will give input as to the content of the annual dermatopathology break-out session or other meetings. The Steering Committee will receive reports from the ad hoc task forces and determine eligibility for the Dermatopathology Section.

Dermatopathology Section Steering Committee

Geisinger Health System

Vice Chair
Term: 2024-2026
St. Louis University School of Medicine


Term: 2024-2027

St. Louis University School of Medicine